top of page
  • sages1323

I AM ENOUGH




Hey, all I really want is to feel like I've got my act together. I talk about this stuff with my therapist, friends, and boyfriend. I just really want to figure out what it means to be satisfied with who I am. When someone asked me to explain what being "enough" means, I realized I'm not quite sure myself. Even though I do my best as a mom, partner, and friend, always there through thick and thin, I can't help but wonder why it never feels like it's quite good enough.

Feeling competent is a basic need that most people strive for in different parts of their lives. It's not just about being good at something; it's about feeling sure of yourself, capable, and self-assured in what you do. Opening up about this feeling with your therapist, friends, or partner can really help you navigate these emotions and get some valuable insights and support. Trying to understand what it really means to be "enough" is a deep journey of self-discovery and looking inward. It means digging into your values, beliefs, and expectations to find that sense of fulfillment and happiness. It's a process that needs you to be honest, vulnerable, and brave enough to face any doubts or insecurities that might come up. Thinking about what "adequacy" means can show you the beliefs and ideas that shape how you see yourself. Even if you're doing a great job as a mom, partner, and friend, that feeling of not being enough might come from the expectations you've picked up along the way or the pressure you feel from society that makes you doubt your achievements. Asking why your efforts don't feel like they're good enough can help you look deeper into your own standards and the outside influences that make you feel like you're falling short. It could show you that maybe you're looking for validation, recognition, or acceptance that pushes you to chase after perfection or approval all the time. By embracing your vulnerabilities and trying to get a clear view of these complicated feelings, you can start a journey toward accepting yourself, loving yourself, and really understanding what it means to feel competent and satisfied. It's all about growing and learning more about yourself, and it takes time, kindness, and a willingness to challenge the beliefs and ideas you've held onto for so long.


I am trying to be more patient with myself, to stop the negative thoughts about me. In the face of friendships ending it can feel like you have no worth, no value, especially when those old friends say that to you, but the truth is friends come and go. If they cannot accept your flaws and all, they do not deserve you. I am far from perfect and I can be selfish, I know this, but I am a good person and I have let others define my self-worth long enough. I have come too far in my healing journey. I deserve better than that. You are worthy. Say that out loud right now. I do not care if you failed a test, your mom walked away, your person gave up, or cheated. You are still enough. You have so much to offer the world. You cannot control others' actions; nothing you do can make them do something. All you can do is grow, learn, and do better. If you dislike where you are in life, dig deep, figure out why, and start making plans to change it. I know it is not always easy, and sometimes getting out of the darkness is tough, but you have done it before. It felt impossible before, it hurt before. You are stronger than you give yourself credit for. You are not alone, even if we have never met, I am proud of you. I love you. Keep fighting.


Till next time - Remember even in the darkness, the world around us is still beautiful. The beauty of life often lies in the moments of struggle and overcoming challenges. Embrace the journey, for it is in the darkest times that we can truly appreciate the light. Each setback is an opportunity for growth, each failure a lesson learned. Your worth is not defined by external circumstances but by the strength and resilience you possess within. Believe in yourself, trust in your abilities, and never underestimate the power of your own inner light. Keep moving forward, for the beauty of life awaits just beyond the shadows.


~Love Sage

1 view0 comments

Recent Posts

See All

Comments


bottom of page